Write a Proposal (9.1.2)

Rationale – I want to make my film because as a filmmaker it features all the genres that i love in film. Sci-Fi, Supernatural, Action, Drama, and for the settings, there is the 80’s which I think is such an interesting setting, I think the toughest challenge of making this film will be recreating the 80’s as much as possible, because everything will have to be changed to reflect it’s 80’s counterpart. I believe this will be the hardest part because every single shot set there will have to be analysed to a great extent as to if everything has been transformed and the shot is convincing enough. I think its purpose is for me to test out my skills and become a better filmmaker in a genre that i love to make and develop more. I wouldn’t say there was a gap in the market for this kind of film but it does make a huge success at cinemas due to the nostalgia, films set in the 80’s emits for viewers. That’s why shows like Stranger Things works so well because viewers watch it for the nostalgia and they pick out things that they had in the 1980’s, and that is the kind of effect i want to replicate with my film. The film is going to test me a lot because not only is this going to be the first film i make but the first in the genre like this so i want to try and achieve all the right effects and make sure i get the pacing right as i don’t want the film to drag or to be too fast paced so i think the pacing will test me a lot so i’m going to make sure i get that perfect.

Project Concept – My project is a drama. It is a short film that features elements of supernatural, sci-fi, and action. It takes place in the 2020’s as well as the 1980’s. It is about a boy from 1985 who is going through some issues, with school, his friends, his family who finds himself in 2020. There he’ll meet another boy, who is the exact same age, and going through the same problems then the film is about the two of them helping each other to overcome their problems. i hope for my drama to show off my skills as a filmmaker that i have developed throughout my 2 years on film and TV. In terms of lighting i really want to show off the colour that was everywhere in the 1980’s weather this is shown in the clothes, or by background items but i want to try and incorporate as much of the bright violet / purple lights that’s associated with that decade. When asking my parents who were around at that time what colours they associate the decade with, they agreed with me that violet is definitely the right colour. So, by using the gels i want to try and incorporate this into the film as much as possible to give the best lighting i can. In terms of sound i want to try and replicate sounds from each era as well as the lighting, for example, shots in the 80s will feature a synthesizer style of music. By doing this it will hopefully replicate the era as much as possible.

Resources – when it comes to a crew I would require a camera operator, sound operator, as well as a light technician, I could do these myself if required. That means i will need a camera, to be specific a 800d camera with i believe a 50mm lens and tripod, Marantz sound kit with a boom pole and mic, as well as lights and gels in red and blue. In terms of actors i will need 2 boys aged 18-20 to play the two protagonists, Charlie and Ben. and around 3 other boys the same age to be the protagonists friends. I will also need a female actor the same age to play Charlie’s girlfriend. When it comes to locations the majority of my film will be filmed outside of college. I will need to film shots in woods, my house out on the streets and a field. I’m going to need a few props for these locations for example food and drinks from the 1980’s. I will achieve this by photoshopping old packaging onto the products like changing coca-cola to ‘new coke’ which came out in 1985. I need to do this with every product from the 1980’s to achieve the looks and full look of the 1980’s. This will also be replicated in the clothing of the characters from the 1980’s. For this i will need to dress the characters in clothes right for the time zone. I can achieve this look from thrift shops and shops like urban outfitters. Although it’s going to be costly, i feel it will help the film quite a lot.

One thought on “Write a Proposal (9.1.2)

  1. ’80’s which I love so much, because for me this film is like a trip to the candy store.’ too informal – try and alter this. why do you have a passion about the 80’s what do you like about this and what challenges will you face in trying to re-create a film of this era? How will this make you become a better filmmaker and push you in your abilities? I would also take out the part about the purpose being to create a heartfelt story… the purpose is for you to test out your skills and become a better filmmaker in the genre and era that you love. You go back and forth over there being a gap in the market – alter this. Is there one? If not talk about how popular this type of film is and why – maybe research this and add in a fact about this. How will this film test you – what will you learn?

    Like

Leave a comment